Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


fgfgfg
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheyCallMeTim13
Wiki Contributor
Reputation: 25

Joined: 24 Feb 2017
Posts: 733
Location: 'Merica

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just curious why you want this, could you elaborate a bit more?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Corroder
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 38

Joined: 10 Apr 2015
Posts: 1532

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe because use chrome as browser. When open a online game using chrome browser then need to find correct PID which need convert hex to dec for PID number.
_________________
Stealing Code From Stolen Code...
And Admit It.. Hmmm....Typically LOL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheyCallMeTim13
Wiki Contributor
Reputation: 25

Joined: 24 Feb 2017
Posts: 733
Location: 'Merica

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But the process IDs are recycled by the system, they become available for this as soon as the last handle to the process has been closed. So how does the PID help to find the right process? I don't mess with browser games, so I have no idea; just curious.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 18

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1580

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, it makes no difference. (PID 1000h = 4096d) whats the point?

you have:
- application list
- process list
- window list

you can find what you need there, if you want pid in decimal format!
cmd.exe tasklist

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Jul 26, 2020
STN wrote:
i am a sweetheart.


Last edited by OldCheatEngineUser on Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 18

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1580

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sounds like you are saying:
"i know the right process id for my target if it was in decimal"

keep in-mind every time you launch your target the system will assign different pid.

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Jul 26, 2020
STN wrote:
i am a sweetheart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FreeER
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 42

Joined: 09 Aug 2013
Posts: 1089

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's just about opening the process then just open the lua engine window (ctrl+alt+shift+L from the main CE window) and type
Code:
openProcess(your pid in decimal)
and press the execute button (or ctrl+enter)...
_________________
https://github.com/FreeER/ has a few CE related repos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheyCallMeTim13
Wiki Contributor
Reputation: 25

Joined: 24 Feb 2017
Posts: 733
Location: 'Merica

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It just sounds like a "catch 22" to me.
In order to select the right process, you say need the PID in decimal; but to know the PID you would need to know which is the right process to get it's ID. And given that PIDs are reused, this just sound odd to me.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FreeER
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 42

Joined: 09 Aug 2013
Posts: 1089

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:34 pm    Post subject: This post has 1 review(s) Reply with quote

Well my assumption is that they're using [chome's] task manager to find the pid for a specific process (which may have many others with the same name). So they have the pid already, but it's in decimal not hex and they don't want to type it into the google to convert it to hex to match what CE shows /shrug
_________________
https://github.com/FreeER/ has a few CE related repos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheyCallMeTim13
Wiki Contributor
Reputation: 25

Joined: 24 Feb 2017
Posts: 733
Location: 'Merica

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FreeER wrote:
... they're using [chome's] task manager to find the pid...


Thank you, that was the part I didn't get/know. Never messed with any browser games before.

EDIT:
Can you hook the code for the chrome task manager to get that PID?

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FreeER
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 42

Joined: 09 Aug 2013
Posts: 1089

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Can you hook the code for the chrome task manager to get that PID?
Um, considering you can do anything if you know what you're doing, yeah probably lol

I've never thought about it though, I practically never mess with browser games either (and far more of them are JS based now days).

_________________
https://github.com/FreeER/ has a few CE related repos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 385

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 23240
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that those programs don't use hex is their issue. Showing it in hex better shows how pid's actually work

anyhow just write a plugin or lua extension
after process opening (mainform.OnOpenedProcess event) adjust MainForm.ProcessLabel.Caption to contain the text you like, including the pid part

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
TheyCallMeTim13
Wiki Contributor
Reputation: 25

Joined: 24 Feb 2017
Posts: 733
Location: 'Merica

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

t328163 wrote:
Of course i can just modify ce src...

No one in this thread, but you, said anything about modifying CE's source. I hinted that you can hook the chrome task manager to get the PID, by asking if you are capable of doing so. But I'll take that as a no, I'm guessing if converting from decimal to hex or just using "openProcess" is asking to much then this will be more work then you like.
EDIT:
Hell, you could even just write some Lua to show a form with a textbox that you put the PID into as decimal and then use that with "openProcess". Really, there are many ways to hack your problem. If I were you I'd be asking "why is modifying CE, the only way I see to solve this"; just seems like you're limiting yourself for no reason.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FreeER
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 42

Joined: 09 Aug 2013
Posts: 1089

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Byte wrote:
Showing it in hex better shows how pid's actually work
Uh, mind explaining that? I always just assumed it was a number incremented for every process started or something simple like that... I don't think hex fundamentally works any better for an arbitrary number than dec, well for small numbers anyways, the largest I currently have is 16328 (task manager) and hex 3FC8 only saves a single digit on that while requiring me to use pretty much the entire keyboard to type instead of just a numpad.

t328163 wrote:
translate from hex to decimal which is time consuming process.
Um... how is typing "xxx in hex" or "0xxxx in decimal" into the chrome browser/google "time consuming"? even if typing "in decimal" is... win+r,calc,alt+3, type decimal or tab,space and type hex. and some of that (calc, alt+3) can be skipped if it was the last thing you'd done and even more can be skipped if you leave the calculator open (just alt+tabs).

To print the attached process's pid, other than DB's suggestion of using the on open event and changing the label, you could create a simple menu item using
Code:
miPidToDec=createMenuItem(MainForm.Menu.Items)
miPidToDec.Caption='PID To Dec'
miPidToDec.OnClick=function()print(getOpenedProcessID())end
MainForm.Menu.Items.add(miPidToDec)
and throw that into the autorun folder. To open a specific PID you could use
Code:
miOpenPID=createMenuItem(MainForm.Menu.Items)
miOpenPID.Caption='OpenPID'
miOpenPID.OnClick=function() openProcess(tonumber(inputQuery('PID','PID',''))) end
MainForm.Menu.Items.add(miOpenPID)

And type in the decimal or 0xHEX (or 0OCT presumably lol). I don't really feel that openProcess(...) is really any harder than clicking a button though (certainly not compared to using a name and having to type that out exactly rather than just clicking it in a list, maybe with a bit of filtering)...but then I'm used to opening the lua engine to play around so /shrug

_________________
https://github.com/FreeER/ has a few CE related repos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 385

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 23240
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in hex you can more easily see that pid's are always dividable by 4. this also allows for some extra tricks. e.g if you have processid 0x204 you can also open it by opening 0x205, 0x206 and 0x207
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
FreeER
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 42

Joined: 09 Aug 2013
Posts: 1089

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Byte wrote:
in hex you can more easily see that pid's are always dividable by 4. this also allows for some extra tricks. e.g if you have processid 0x204 you can also open it by opening 0x205, 0x206 and 0x207
Interesting, but hardly feels like a compelling reason to me since I seriously doubt most people are going to notice it let alone make use of it and it's not something that hex really helps with once you do know it since it works exactly the same in decimal. In which case decimal is just as good as hex and seems to be what you get from other programs. I don't mind hex and as mentioned I feel it's a trivial thing to work around, but I was curious when I saw your comment Smile
_________________
https://github.com/FreeER/ has a few CE related repos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites