Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


from 32bite to 64 bite

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Computer Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
paupav
Master Cheater
Reputation: 13

Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 317
Location: P. Sherman 42, Wallaby Way, Sydney

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:41 pm    Post subject: from 32bite to 64 bite This post has 1 review(s) Reply with quote

(i have now installed 32-bit win 7) is possible to install win 7 64-bit but without deleting any folders/ programms... (exept ofc win 7 32 bite) if this help i have external hard drive
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SF
I'm a spammer
Reputation: 119

Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 6029

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe if you install it over your current OS, the install will backup your data and put it in c:\windows.old

but don't bother with 64bit unless you have over 4GB of ram.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rado84
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SF wrote:
but don't bother with 64bit unless you have over 4GB of ram.

It depends on the build he's gonna install. For instance, I have 2 GB of RAM but I'd never switch to x86 for a number of reasons and one of them is the better HD video performance on x64 (no video lag). W7Ux64 build 7600 is the best on that matter - HD video performance. There are many more reasons why x64 is better than x86, but I'll enlist them only if someone wants me to do it.
Paupav, you can install x64 over x86, but I'd suggest you an easier solution. Make a clean install of x64, then install all programs you need and after that use Symantec Ghost 11.0 on bootable CD to create a high compressed image of your Windows x64 and save this image on any drive other than C:\. I'm using this method and it's much better than reinstalling Windows every time, because this method keeps all user settings, files and folders on C:\.
Oh, and remember that x64 needs more space. x86 requires about 15 GB of hard drive and x64 requires about 20 GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paupav
Master Cheater
Reputation: 13

Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 317
Location: P. Sherman 42, Wallaby Way, Sydney

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rado84 wrote:
SF wrote:
but don't bother with 64bit unless you have over 4GB of ram.

It depends on the build he's gonna install. For instance, I have 2 GB of RAM but I'd never switch to x86 for a number of reasons and one of them is the better HD video performance on x64 (no video lag). W7Ux64 build 7600 is the best on that matter - HD video performance. There are many more reasons why x64 is better than x86, but I'll enlist them only if someone wants me to do it.
Paupav, you can install x64 over x86, but I'd suggest you an easier solution. Make a clean install of x64, then install all programs you need and after that use Symantec Ghost 11.0 on bootable CD to create a high compressed image of your Windows x64 and save this image on any drive other than C:\. I'm using this method and it's much better than reinstalling Windows every time, because this method keeps all user settings, files and folders on C:\.
Oh, and remember that x64 needs more space. x86 requires about 15 GB of hard drive and x64 requires about 20 GB.


so it more lagg on 64 bit... thank you because i would install 64 bit and then i would again insall 32 bit because lagg (i thought to it lagg less if you have more gb of ram... )

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rado84
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you didn't understand me - you will have less to none HD video lag under 64-bit Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paupav
Master Cheater
Reputation: 13

Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 317
Location: P. Sherman 42, Wallaby Way, Sydney

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

great!
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Radiation
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 14

Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 842
Location: Chernobyl

PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SF wrote:
I believe if you install it over your current OS, the install will backup your data and put it in c:\windows.old

but don't bother with 64bit unless you have over 4GB of ram.


oh ok, i have a computer that has exactly 4gb ram... i have a choice of x86 or x64 (my processor supports both - it's an AMD Athlon x2... i know i know) which one, if you were in my place, would you install?

_________________
Jesus loves you, Hitler! Smile

Playing/Embedding XM and MOD files in Visual Basic 6

.erutangis ruoy ni siht esu neht ,sdrawkcab siht daer ot hguone trams erew uoy fI
I can spell your name backwards: ‮Hitler
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 379

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 22661
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

depends on if you wish to hack games or not. 32bit is a lot easier to hack on
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
SF
I'm a spammer
Reputation: 119

Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 6029

PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

itapa wrote:
SF wrote:
I believe if you install it over your current OS, the install will backup your data and put it in c:\windows.old

but don't bother with 64bit unless you have over 4GB of ram.


oh ok, i have a computer that has exactly 4gb ram... i have a choice of x86 or x64 (my processor supports both - it's an AMD Athlon x2... i know i know) which one, if you were in my place, would you install?

64bit, of course.

@rado84: no video lag in 64bit? I get video lag quite often - most likely due to my processor always being under high loads.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Computer Talk All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites