Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Gigabyte's excuse to burn out sockets (1155)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Computer Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kls85
I post too much
Reputation: 22

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 2757
Location: Under ur bed

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 3:46 pm    Post subject: Gigabyte's excuse to burn out sockets (1155) Reply with quote

link
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hero
I'm a spammer
Reputation: 79

Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 7174

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is why I use msi boards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kls85
I post too much
Reputation: 22

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 2757
Location: Under ur bed

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 4:22 pm    Post subject: This post has 2 review(s) Reply with quote

You do know that Gigabyte don't make sockets.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcavolsdsadgadsg
I'm a spammer
Reputation: 26

Joined: 11 Jun 2007
Posts: 5801

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gigabyte boards own to be honest, i always use them.

plus dual bios is the best feature ever invented.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shota
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 6

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 1798
Location: Mainland, China

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I blame Foxconn, just like 1156 being burnt.
_________________

Officially gay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Hero
I'm a spammer
Reputation: 79

Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 7174

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My old pc had a gigabyte board and to be honest it has the worst bios ever. Gigabyte keeps a hidden OC menu but doesn't give you voltage options. This is probably why they killed that board with their testing.
Quote:

'Our testing involves overclocking and other various tests to which no motherboard should normally be exposed – we’re basically testing durability, and durability is determined when the board dies.


yea, pretty sure that cannot be helpful if they test a board that lacks voltage options this way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shota
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 6

Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 1798
Location: Mainland, China

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hero wrote:
My old pc had a gigabyte board and to be honest it has the worst bios ever. Gigabyte keeps a hidden OC menu but doesn't give you voltage options. This is probably why they killed that board with their testing.
Quote:

'Our testing involves overclocking and other various tests to which no motherboard should normally be exposed – we’re basically testing durability, and durability is determined when the board dies.


yea, pretty sure that cannot be helpful if they test a board that lacks voltage options this way.

\Sorry, but nope.

_________________

Officially gay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
hcavolsdsadgadsg
I'm a spammer
Reputation: 26

Joined: 11 Jun 2007
Posts: 5801

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hero wrote:
My old pc had a gigabyte board and to be honest it has the worst bios ever. Gigabyte keeps a hidden OC menu but doesn't give you voltage options. This is probably why they killed that board with their testing.
Quote:

'Our testing involves overclocking and other various tests to which no motherboard should normally be exposed – we’re basically testing durability, and durability is determined when the board dies.


yea, pretty sure that cannot be helpful if they test a board that lacks voltage options this way.


um, no, nothing is hidden and there is roughly one million voltage options available, 98% of which you don't even want to touch because it controls some insane obscure thing that has zero documentation and doesn't need to be dealt with anyway unless you're trying to break world records on liquid nitrogen or some shit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hero
I'm a spammer
Reputation: 79

Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 7174

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The board model is M61pme-s2p

Now when you google that and find out you cannot adjust voltage in the bios but it does have the ability to increase the FSB to OC, kill yourself.

[ ] Not told

[X] Told
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kls85
I post too much
Reputation: 22

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 2757
Location: Under ur bed

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shota wrote:
I blame Foxconn, just like 1156 being burnt.

Still remember that, but wasn't it 1366?
The Foxconn sockets does not apply a even/enough pressure to the CPU thus some of the contacts never or slightly touches the pins on the socket. When you OC to the extreme things turn ugly. People running on stock clocks will never notice the problem. Boards using non Foxconn sockets such as Lotes don't have this problem. Comparing to the two sockets, there is a slight difference design. Who know that microscopic difference would create such a impact.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcavolsdsadgadsg
I'm a spammer
Reputation: 26

Joined: 11 Jun 2007
Posts: 5801

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hero wrote:
The board model is M61pme-s2p

Now when you google that and find out you cannot adjust voltage in the bios but it does have the ability to increase the FSB to OC, kill yourself.

[ ] Not told

[X] Told


it's an old micro-atx board that uses a shitty nforce chipset. other budget micro-atx boards on the same chipset also seem to lack voltage control.


thus: it's not a gigabyte thing.

checkmate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hero
I'm a spammer
Reputation: 79

Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 7174

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

slovach wrote:
Hero wrote:
The board model is M61pme-s2p

Now when you google that and find out you cannot adjust voltage in the bios but it does have the ability to increase the FSB to OC, kill yourself.

[ ] Not told

[X] Told


it's an old micro-atx board that uses a shitty nforce chipset. other budget micro-atx boards on the same chipset also seem to lack voltage control.


thus: it's not a gigabyte thing.

checkmate.
arg, ya got me. Until next time!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elpacco
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 30

Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 1267

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah seriously, Gigabyte boards are great. I'm using one now, but I'm gonna be moving over to an Asus for DDR3.
_________________
[AM]Misery wrote:

FangBanger wrote:
What is the best way for a lv19 Soldier to solo Sledge on Borderlands?
Shoot him.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Computer Talk All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites