Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Windows 7 sound playback problem.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Computer Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Notepad
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 9

Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 722
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:13 am    Post subject: Windows 7 sound playback problem. Reply with quote

I installed Windows 7 Ultimate a couple hours ago and I have the same problem as this: http://www.sevenforums.com/sound-audio/8731-audio-limited-just-one-playback-speakers-headset.html

Anyone know a way to use both my headset and speakers to playback?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atom0s
Moderator
Reputation: 157

Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Posts: 8141
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depending on the application and sound card / drivers you are using some may be able to automatically allow you to utilize all output ports on the system at once. By default, Windows doesn't have this feature, as far as I know, as the device roles feature never happened.

Check your sound card options / config panel to see if it has any special feature to push output to more then one port, also check if the application has the feature too.

As suggested on some Google searches, you may want to look for a virtual audio driver to accomplish this without needing to spend money on more equipment and a new card. (You may need to turn of driver-signing in Windows as well to use one if you do get one.)

_________________
- Retired.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kls85
I post too much
Reputation: 22

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 2757
Location: Under ur bed

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:06 pm    Post subject: This post has 1 review(s) Reply with quote

Fire up the Realtek control panel (It's the red speaker icon in your task bar).
Look around and there is a options which something similar to this

"Mute rear speakers when front panel is plugged in". Disable it and now you can have both playbacks

If you don't see that, update to the latest Realtek drivers from Realtek's website.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Notepad
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 9

Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 722
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kls85 wrote:
Fire up the Realtek control panel (It's the red speaker icon in your task bar).
Look around and there is a options which something similar to this

"Mute rear speakers when front panel is plugged in". Disable it and now you can have both playbacks

If you don't see that, update to the latest Realtek drivers from Realtek's website.
Couldn't find 'Mute rear speakers when front panel is plugged in' but after fiddling around with some other options, everything's working great now.

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kls85
I post too much
Reputation: 22

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 2757
Location: Under ur bed

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use a X-Fi sound card (XtremeMusic) so I can't remember the exact phrase.

At least you manage it to work so that's good.
And here is a pic of the options I was talking about

It's that middle option (greyed out due to the first option being enabled).


_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jani
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 2

Joined: 29 Dec 2006
Posts: 804

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Too bad they removed this feature from Vista/7. XP has an option to output both, digital and analog the same time, but it's not available in Vista/7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kls85
I post too much
Reputation: 22

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 2757
Location: Under ur bed

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jani wrote:
Too bad they removed this feature from Vista/7. XP has an option to output both, digital and analog the same time, but it's not available in Vista/7.


This depends on the audio header and setting within the BIOS

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jani
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 2

Joined: 29 Dec 2006
Posts: 804

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kls85 wrote:
This depends on the audio header and setting within the BIOS
Nope, it's Windows' feature. There's a work around tho: use ASIO.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Computer Talk All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites