Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pointer's offset changes after every execution of the game

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SuperAndromeda
Newbie cheater

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2024 12:51 am    Post subject: Pointer's offset changes after every execution of the game Reply with quote

Hello, I'm a beginner at CE, so take it easy on me.

I got a green address after searching for "what access the target address" once. It is in the form of process-name.dll + address (gameoverlayrenderer.dll+10F684).

The values I want to control are the controller inputs for the 4 players of the game (Rivals of Aether), and each of them is distinguished by one offset of F8 plus a register times 8 (which is always a multiple of hex 10). The problem is, each time I open the game the offsets are redistributed. How do I get a pointer which has a fixed offset?

CE.png
 Description:
Here is the accessing instruction list from the first address
 Filesize:  17.89 KB
 Viewed:  1140 Time(s)

CE.png

ParkourPenguin
I post too much

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2024 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the pointer scanner.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3dyIrcx8Z8g

If it really only goes through that data structure, you'll have to loop through each element in that array and figure out which one it is. Similar to step 9 of the CE tutorial.

Code injection is an alternative. Search "injection copy"

SuperAndromeda
Newbie cheater

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2024 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ParkourPenguin wrote:
Try the pointer scanner.