Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Monitor shared memory

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
luminebot
How do I cheat?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2021 2:03 pm    Post subject: Monitor shared memory Reply with quote

Hi there, I'm new to cheat engine and I found it extremely helpful in my end. But now I'm stuck with a problem.

I have two programs communicating each other in local machine with Shared Memory instead of a network and it use Memory Mapped File. After doing small research, I found msdn doc how shared memory with memory mapped file work. The thing is, either programs hold the pointer to the memory region. it don't need to call WinAPI whenever the program need to read / write, it only called once during initialization as the part to getting the pointer, making API hooking useless.

Now the question, is it possible to set breakpoint to data inside Memory Mapped File? I like to know whether there's pointer pointing at certain memory address inside the memory mapped file and add breakpoint to it whenever there's read or write.

Last edited by luminebot on Wed Jun 09, 2021 11:44 am; edited 2 times in total
Dark Byte
Site Admin

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2021 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

assuming it's not a virtual machine, you could use dbvm find what accesses.

This version of 'find what accesses' uses physical memory and doesn't distinguish between processes.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
luminebot
How do I cheat?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2021 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Byte wrote:
assuming it's not a virtual machine, you could use dbvm find what accesses.