Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Using an edit box value to set an address value

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine Lua Scripting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bknight2602
Master Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 08 Oct 2012
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:53 pm    Post subject: Using an edit box value to set an address value Reply with quote

Code:

trainer
self.extra_exp_value = createEdit(self.value_panel3);
   self.extra_exp_value.top = 4;
   self.extra_exp_value.left = 2;
   self.extra_exp_value.Width = 86;
   self.extra_exp_value.Height = 31;
--
   self.extra_ap_value = createEdit(self.value_panel4);
   self.extra_ap_value.top = 4;
   self.extra_ap_value.left = 2;
   self.extra_ap_value.Width = 86;
   self.extra_ap_value.Height = 31;
--
function ExtraExp(sender)
   local AL = getAddressList();
   if not valueE then
      valueE = tonumber(self.extra_exp_value.Text);
   end;
   if not valueA then
      valueA = tonumber(self.extra_ap_value.Text);
   end;
   if tonumber(addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "Battle Byte").Value) == 32 then
      addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle Non Kill XP").Value = valueE
      --addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle Non Kill XP").Value = 1000
      addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle AP").Value = valueA
      --addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle AP").Value = 100
   end
end--function ExtraExp(sender)
--
   self.Exp = createTimer(nil, false)
   self.Exp.onTimer = ExtraExp
   self.Exp.Interval = 1000; --checks every 1000 milliseconds
--
   self.form.show();
   self.ea_cb = createCheckBox(self.form);
   self.ea_cb.Caption = "Ent Exp and AP below";
   self.ea_cb.Height = 20;
   self.ea_cb.Left = 240;
   self.ea_cb.Width = 75;
   self.ea_cb.Top = 110;
   self.ea_cb.onClick =   function (sender)
                           if sender.Checked then
                              self.Exp.Enabled = true;
                              --valueA = 10;
                              --valueE = 100;
                              print("Extra Exp is enabled")
                           else
                              self.Exp.Enabled = false;
                              print("Extra Exp is not enabled")
                              self.extra_exp_value.Text = nil
                              self.extra_ap_value.Text = nil
                              valueE = nil;
                              valueE = nil;
                           end--if sender.Checked then
                          end--function (sender
--
end--trainer
--
trainer:start();


This is a code snippet that I have.
What I'm attempting is to check the check box and then enter a value in the edit box. But As soon as I enter a value I get an invalid integer error message. What needs to be changed to the procedure?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
DaSpamer
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 30

Joined: 13 Sep 2011
Posts: 1511

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I assume you're the editbox holds hexadecimal address.
While tonumber without additional parameter specifying what type of number you're supplying it treats it as decimal

So you have to do either of these 2 ways;
Code:
local address = 'FFFFFFFF';
print(tonumber('0x'..address));

or
Code:
local address = 'FFFFFFFF';
print(tonumber(address,16));

_________________
HEY Hitler
Do you get lazy when making trainers?
Well no more!
My CETrainer will generate it for you in seconds, so you won't get lazy! Very Happy

http://forum.cheatengine.org/viewtopic.php?t=564919
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bknight2602
Master Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 08 Oct 2012
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaSpamer wrote:
I assume you're the editbox holds hexadecimal address.
While tonumber without additional parameter specifying what type of number you're supplying it treats it as decimal

So you have to do either of these 2 ways;
Code:
local address = 'FFFFFFFF';
print(tonumber('0x'..address));

or
Code:
local address = 'FFFFFFFF';
print(tonumber(address,16));

Umm no the edit box is blank at startup and I only input integers 10, 100, 1000 etc.
I wish to take the input number and insert that number into a table address:
addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle Non Kill XP").Value = valueE
and/or
addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle AP").Value = valueA
I will attempt your thoughts and report in an edit to this post.

ETA: No the change in the tonumber command to
Code:

function ExtraExp(sender)
   local AL = getAddressList();
   if not valueE then
      valueE = tonumber(self.extra_exp_value.Text,16);
   end;
   if not valueA then
      valueA = tonumber(self.extra_ap_value.Text,16);
   end;
   if tonumber(addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "Battle Byte").Value) == 32 then
      addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle Non Kill XP").Value = valueE
      --addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle Non Kill XP").Value = 1000
      addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle AP").Value = valueA
      --addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle AP").Value = 100
   end

Resulted in the same error: Invalid integer
Now if I set either/both valueA valueE ton an interger see the original code with the commented lines for integers the code works exactly as desired.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
DaSpamer
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 30

Joined: 13 Sep 2011
Posts: 1511

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've misread your post earlier, thought you're trying to set an address from edit box.
Code:
tonumber(num,base)

tonumber second parameter specifies the base to interpret the number, and it range from base 2 to 36.
by specifying base 16, its interpreting the number as hexadecimal.

Anyway I suspect that you either set some letters inside your editbox or valueE or valueA are not integers.

Code:
local keyPressNumeric = function(sender,key)
   return((tonumber(key)or key=='\08')and key or nil); -- any number key or backspace key
end;
local onChangeNumeric = function(sender)
   sender.Text = tonumber(sender.Text) or 0; -- prevent from text being anything other than a number, default zero
end;
self.extra_exp_value.onChange = onChangeNumeric; -- force editbox to contain a number or default value any change;
self.extra_exp_value.OnKeyPress = keyPressNumeric; -- assign keyPressNumeric to any editbox you wish to force only numbers key presses;
self.extra_ap_value.onChange = onChangeNumeric;
self.extra_ap_value.OnKeyPress = keyPressNumeric;

function ExtraExp(sender)
   local al = getAddressList();
   valueE = tonumber(valueE) or tonumber(self.extra_exp_value.Text); -- im casting valueE to a number in case you haven't assign anything to it, or it is not a number..
   valueA = tonumber(valueA) or tonumber(self.extra_ap_value.Text);
   
   if (tonumber(al.getMemoryRecordByDescription('Battle Byte').Value) == 32) then
      al.getMemoryRecordByDescription('After Battle Non Kill XP').Value = valueE;
      al.getMemoryRecordByDescription('After Battle AP').Value = valueA;
   end
   -- rest of your code...
   
   
   
end

_________________
HEY Hitler
Do you get lazy when making trainers?
Well no more!
My CETrainer will generate it for you in seconds, so you won't get lazy! Very Happy

http://forum.cheatengine.org/viewtopic.php?t=564919
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bknight2602
Master Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 08 Oct 2012
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There were a couple of errors further back in the code that fixed the issue. Your suggestion that a alpha was in the code wasn't right, but you handed me some code years ago, that prevented alphas and I had an incorrect name associated with it, fixed those and the issues went away.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
bknight2602
Master Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 08 Oct 2012
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2020 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been trying to rewrite the code eliminating errors: Corrected code
Code:

   self.value_panel3 = createPanel(self.form);
   self.value_panel3.Text = '';
   self.value_panel3.left = 240;
   self.value_panel3.top = 130;
   self.value_panel3.Height = 35;
   self.value_panel3.Width = 90;--Extra AP
--
   self.value_panel4 = createPanel(self.form);
   self.value_panel4.Text = '';
   self.value_panel4.left = 240;
   self.value_panel4.top = 170;
   self.value_panel4.Height = 35;
   self.value_panel4.Width = 90;--Extra Exp
--
   self.extra_exp_value = createEdit(self.value_panel3);
   self.extra_exp_value.top = 4;
   self.extra_exp_value.left = 2;
   self.extra_exp_value.Width = 86;
   self.extra_exp_value.Height = 31;
   setMethodProperty(self.extra_exp_value, "OnKeyPress", function (sender, key) local keynr = string.byte(key); if (keynr~=8) and (keynr~=45) and (keynr~=13) and ((keynr<48) or (keynr>57)) then key=nil; end if (keynr==13 and not(sender.Text == nil or sender.Text == '')) then key = nil; self.set_extra_exp.onClick(); end return key; end)
--
   self.extra_ap_value = createEdit(self.value_panel4);
   self.extra_ap_value.top = 4;
   self.extra_ap_value.left = 2;
   self.extra_ap_value.Width = 86;
   self.extra_ap_value.Height = 31;
   setMethodProperty(self.extra_ap_value, "OnKeyPress", function (sender, key) local keynr = string.byte(key); if (keynr~=8) and (keynr~=45) and (keynr~=13) and ((keynr<48) or (keynr>57)) then key=nil; end if (keynr==13 and not(sender.Text == nil or sender.Text == '')) then key = nil; self.set_extra_ap.onClick(); end return key; end)
--
function ExtraExp(sender)
   local AL = getAddressList();
   if tonumber(addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "Battle Byte").Value) == 32 then
      if trainer.extra_exp_value.Text then
         valueE = tonumber(trainer.extra_exp_value.Text);
      end;
      if trainer.extra_ap_value.Text then
         valueA = tonumber(trainer.extra_ap_value.Text);
      end;
      if valueE then
         addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle Non Kill XP").Value = valueE
      end;
      --addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle Non Kill XP").Value = 1000
      if valueA then
         addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle AP").Value = valueA
      end;
      --addresslist_getMemoryRecordByDescription(AL, "After Battle AP").Value = 100
   end
end--function ExtraExp(sender)
   self.Exp = createTimer(nil, false)
   self.Exp.onTimer = ExtraExp
   self.Exp.Interval = 1000;


When not in a battle no errors with checkbox unchecked.
As I type this trainer.extra_ap_value.Text should be 100(using print the result is 100 good so far.), and trainer.extra_exp_value.Text should be nil(nothing in edit box and print shows nothing)

Entering a battle the first if statement is true, and I still get the invalid integer and after 200 notations(I guess) I start getting stack overflows).

ETA I just figured out the error, removing the not removes the error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine Lua Scripting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites