Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Newbie questions about CE's stability, DBVM and first use

View previous topic :: View next topic  
qrt
How do I cheat?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:08 pm    Post subject: Newbie questions about CE's stability, DBVM and first use Reply with quote

Greetings

Newbie here. I'd like to start using Cheat Engine, but I have some questions I hope you'll help me with.

My system:
CPU intel i7 (not overclocked)
8 GM RAM
win10 x64

First of all, for the time being, I want to use it only with 'Dark Souls II SoFS'.

My questions:

1. Regarding the stability of the program, I see some reports of Cheat Engine users having freezes or BSOD.
    Do these freezes and BSOD occur only when using DBVM (with kernel debugging), or it may happen even without DBVM, i.e. it might be caused by the game and its Anti-Cheat protection that may cause BSOD??
    I currently don't have any problem with my system (freeze/hang/BSOD, never) so I just hope to keep it that way, or at least know what to expect after starting using Cheat Engine.

2. Regarding DBVM, I see in the wiki that it's
    Quote:
    "DBVM is a ultra-lightweight virtual machine host that makes Windows run in a virtual machine so that Cheat Engine can operate at a higher level than the OS using a device driver. Instead of virtualizing devices it generally passes on interrupts unaltered meaning it has a very small impact on performance.