Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

I am new to finding pointers and I'm having trouble...

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Graesholt
How do I cheat?

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 2:32 am    Post subject: I am new to finding pointers and I'm having trouble... Reply with quote

My experience with Cheat Engine so far has amounted to "search for value, change value in-game, search for new value, change value in cheat engine, hold party", however, I am now looking to read some memory adresses with an AutoHotKey script, and therefore I need to learn how to find the correct pointers.

I have watched numerous tutorials, but none seem to address the issue that I have.
If someone would walk me through this one, I would be very grateful.
It basically amounts to the first address I find already being green, which I understand means that the adress is static.
However, when I then restart my PC, the address changes, but remains green, which I don't quite follow, as I thought it was static before...

This might be a SUPER n00b-issue, but I'm sort of at the end of my rope here, and coming up with nothing.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

Screenshot 2018-05-17 10.13.34.png
 Description:
My guy's health address, isolated and thought (by me) to be static.
 Filesize:  36.88 KB
 Viewed:  1289 Time(s)

Screenshot 2018-05-17 10.13.34.png

Screenshot 2018-05-17 10.18.04.png
 Description:
The same health address, isolated after a restart. The address has changed, but it still claims to be static...
 Filesize:  37.11 KB
 Viewed:  1289 Time(s)

Screenshot 2018-05-17 10.18.04.png

Dark Byte
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote