Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Detecting the state of an in game object

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Irohhhh
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 16 Apr 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:48 pm    Post subject: Detecting the state of an in game object Reply with quote

Does anyone know a way of detecting the state of an in-game object? I'm working on a game where you can destroy trees and I would really like to know a way of detecting whether the tree has been destroyed. I'm assuming there will be some value which corresponds to whether or not the tree should appear in-game. When the tree is destroyed this value should change, and when it spawns again the value should change once more, right? With these assumptions in mind I carried out the following procedure:

1. initial value = unknown
2. data type = all
3. scan for values.

4. kill tree.
5. scan for changed values.
6. scan for unchanged values a few times.
7. wait for tree to respawn.
8. scan for changed values.
6. scan for unchanged values a few times.
9. go to step 4.

I assumed I would end up with some value which corresponded to the presence of the tree, however, I simply ended up with no values at all. Can anyone suggest a more effective way of tackling my problem? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheyCallMeTim13
Wiki Contributor
Reputation: 19

Joined: 24 Feb 2017
Posts: 559
Location: 'Merica

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Main thing I would add is check the CE settings -> scan settings -> All; and make sure "byte" is checked. It takes longer to scan, but I'd bet it's a byte value. But it could also be a bit, but if you only mess with one tree then byte should find it, you'll just need to see how the game accesses the address to know for sure.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FreeER
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 34

Joined: 09 Aug 2013
Posts: 893

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It could be deleting the tree object and creating a new one, particularly if it's appearing in a new place or otherwise different properties, or simply removing it from a list of "live" objects and adding it to a list of "dead" ones (or doing so for that frame and then deleting everything at the end of the frame when it knows how much time it has until the next frame).

It could simply a have some count for the number of trees that should exist and if it's 0 then it doesn't draw anything otherwise it has some hard coded way of drawing each of the trees.

I'm sure there's a couple other potential scenarios.

_________________
https://github.com/FreeER/ has a few CE related repos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites