Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Ultimap 2 i7 6850k too old? DVBM freezes computer also
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KevAqn
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 3:48 pm    Post subject: Ultimap 2 i7 6850k too old? DVBM freezes computer also Reply with quote

Tried to load up the ultimap 2 feature and was told me cpu was too old, have a hard time thinking that would be true.

Switched to using Ultimap 1 to only find out that upon loading DVBM freezes my computer, I have Intel VT enabled and I've tried it fresh from a boot and my computer still freezes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 360

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 21035
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, weird execute this lua script and tell me what it says:
Code:

autoAssemble([[
  alloc(cpuidcaller, 128)
  registersymbol(cpuidcaller)

  cpuidcaller:
  //parameter is a pointer to a block of 16 bytes which acts as input and output
  //layout:
  //index / eax_result
  //ebx_result
  //ecx_result
  //edx_result
  [32-bit]
  mov eax,[esp+4]
  mov eax,[eax]
  mov ecx,[eax+8]
  push ebx
  push ecx
  push edx


  [/32-bit]

  [64-bit]

  mov r8,rcx //save rcx
  mov r9,rbx //save rbx
  mov eax,[rcx]
  mov ecx,[rcx+8]
  [/64-bit]
  cpuid

  [32-bit]
  push edi
  mov edi,[esp+14]
  mov [edi],eax
  mov [edi+4],ebx
  mov [edi+8],ecx
  mov [edi+c],edx
  pop edi

  pop edx
  pop ecx
  pop ebx
  ret 4
  [/32-bit]

  [64-bit]
  mov [r8],eax
  mov [r8+4],ebx
  mov [r8+8],ecx
  mov [r8+c],edx

  mov rbx,r9 //restore rbx
  ret
  [/64-bit]
]], true)

function CPUID(i,j)
  local s=createMemoryStream()
  s.Size=20 --allocate 20 bytes (yes, you can do this)
  writeIntegerLocal(s.Memory,i)
  writeIntegerLocal(s.Memory+8,j)
  executeCodeLocal("cpuidcaller", s.Memory)


  local r={}
  r.eax=readIntegerLocal(s.Memory)
  r.ebx=readIntegerLocal(s.Memory+4)
  r.ecx=readIntegerLocal(s.Memory+8)
  r.edx=readIntegerLocal(s.Memory+12)

  s.destroy()
  return r
end

function Ultimap2Check()
  check1=CPUID(0)
  if (check1.ebx~=1970169159) or  (check1.ecx ~= 1818588270) or (check1.edx ~= 1231384169) then
    print("I do recommend you get a real CPU")
    return
  end

  if ((CPUID(0x7,0).ebx >> 25) & 1)==0 then  --check cpu feature flag if it supports trace
    print("Error: Your cpu sucks")
    return
  end

  CPUID_14_0=CPUID(0x14,0)

  if (CPUID_14_0.ecx & (1 << 1)==0) and (CPUID_14_0.ecx & (1 << 0)==0) then
    print("Error: Single Output Region ToPA Only CPU. Not supported. Sorry!")
    return
  end

  if (CPUID_14_0.ebx & 1)==0 then
    print("Error: No CR3 Filter support for this CPU")
    return
  end

  print("Your cpu passed the tests. It should support Ultimap V2.0")
  return true
end

Ultimap2Check()


Judging from the 'too old' message I think you'll get the 'Error: Single Output Region ToPA Only CPU. Not supported. Sorry!' message.

Perhaps the 6850K somehow has an early revision of the IPT feature. (or to make space for additional cores they left that out ?)


A tip for ultimap(1) and DBVM:
Enable kernelmode OpenProcess in settings
Then go to the about screen and rightclick your system supports DBVM
Now click on each cpu from bottom to top. In the rare case you didn't BSOD, restart CE

Now open the target process and try ultimap

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
KevAqn
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ran the LUA and got this back: Your cpu passed the tests. It should support Ultimap V2.0

Is there something I can do to use ultimap 2? I'll give a shot what you said for DBVM and reply once I've tested.

Edit: Switched to Kernal OpenProcess and then tested CPU 0 and froze, did a fresh boot and CPU 1 froze. Guess that didn't seem to help :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 360

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 21035
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, I think that single ToPA test should have been an 'or' (fixed in the ce code but not in my test script)

at the end of the previous script, add this code:
Code:

return CPUID_14_0

and then post the output here

that way I can see if bit 1 of ECX is 1 or 0. If it's 0, it means that mentry is 0 which means it can only use one single page of addresses (if that bit is 0, then it won't work. I may make a version that works without it for next version, but will be difficult to test)

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
KevAqn
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here you go:

Your cpu passed the tests. It should support Ultimap V2.0
:table
[
edx = 0
ecx = 1
ebx = 1
eax = 0
]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 360

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 21035
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, your cpu seems to be one of the earlier revisions with no support for multiple pages. This means the total buffersize is limited and needs to be physically contiguous
if i get time i'll see about making a build that can deal with thus limitation and still be usable

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
KevAqn
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Earlier revisions such as a newer of the same model might even work? Anyways if you could that would be a huge help, just started doing work with the Ultimap on a much lower end laptop and would love it on my main computer.

Edit: wait, the ECX was 1 not 0?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 360

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 21035
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2016 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

newer of the same model might work yes. (i7-6700HQ on my laptop does work)

ECX was 1 yes, but that just means bit 0 was 1, bit 1 is 0 (bitcount starts at 0)

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 360

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 21035
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Download http://cheatengine.org/temp/ce66-ultimap2-SingleToPASystem.zip and extract it over your ce install folder

Perhaps this may work

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
KevAqn
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It says that it is recording but when I click Code did not get executed I actually never see any numbers in the "Last filter results:"

It was the same on my laptop that is running a 6500 or 6700 i7... I'm pretty sure I'm not using Ultimap 2 wrong since I've successfully used Ultimap (1)

It also seems to just sit on Processing Data 0% when I've set it to Process data after clicking a button instead of while recording.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 360

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 21035
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

run DbgView : https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/debugview.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396

Enable kernelmode logging. (If you're in windows 10 you have to run it right after a reboot with kernel logging checked before you run it)

and post a log.

(and try a reboot anyhow, in case it has the old driver loaded)

and after starting the ultimap recording:
execute this code:
Code:

IA32_PERF_GLOBAL_STATUS=0x38e  --bit 55=Trace_ToPA_PMI

IA32_RTIT_CTL=0x570
IA32_RTIT_STATUS=0x571
IA32_RTIT_CR3_MATCH=0x572



--ToPA
IA32_RTIT_OUTPUT_BASE=0x560
IA32_RTIT_OUTPUT_MASK_PTRS=0x561


  print(string.format("%x", dbk_readMSR(IA32_RTIT_CTL)))
  print(string.format("%x", dbk_readMSR(IA32_RTIT_STATUS)))
  print(string.format("%x", dbk_readMSR(IA32_RTIT_CR3_MATCH)))
  print(string.format("%x", dbk_readMSR(IA32_RTIT_OUTPUT_BASE)))
  print(string.format("%x", dbk_readMSR(IA32_RTIT_OUTPUT_MASK_PTRS)))


it will tell me about the state of the processor trace

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
KevAqn
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What exactly am I supposed to do while logging?

This probably sounds like a really stupid question and I feel a bit stupid asking this.

Edit:

Just rebooted logged the debug (with Kernal) to a file here: http://theaquila.net/KevStuff/dbgview.log

Opened my game, attached CE, opened up the Ultimap 2 tested it and still didn't work. Then ran that code and got this:

2188
0
da92cf000
10bf426000
7f


Oh I should probably also note I'm on windows 7

edit 2:

Read your post again, this is the lua while ultimap is "running"

2189
11
c0b487000
10bcec8000
7f


The first one was aftter I hit pause.


running it multiple times will sometimes spit this out:

2189
11
c0b487000
10bf1bd000
7f
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 360

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 21035
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this dbgview is missing the kernel log. try running it explicitly as admin (kernel messages have no [number] in front)

status 11 indicates that there was an error, but i can't say what without the kernel log

(Unload the driver and then extract the .sys again. Sometimes windows restores active drivers)

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
KevAqn
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unload the driver? Umm, reboot or something I guess?

Cant seem to get any kernal messages showing up in DebugView. I don't think I'm doing anything wrong either.

Edit 2:

Got something with Verbose Kernal enabled on DebugViewer.

http://theaquila.net/KevStuff/dbgview.log
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 360

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 21035
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it fails yes. As soon as it's enabled the error bit gets set, which means the ToPA entry or something else is failing

Try giving as size 2048000 or lower (not too low). Perhaps your system doesn't like ToPA entriers greater than 4KB either

Edit: Oh, and d:\lotsofspace is writable ?

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites