Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


I can't find return point

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kitesan
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:57 am    Post subject: I can't find return point Reply with quote

Help i'm inside a thread but i cant find a return point , i dont know how to go at the end of this thread because the code looks strange , the debugger says Currently debugging Thread 30C0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveAndrew
Master Cheater
Reputation: 30

Joined: 02 Sep 2012
Posts: 323

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right click on the stack area in the bottom right corner and select "Full Stack".

Then start clicking on some addresses that look like return addresses.

Or you could always try a break and trace Razz

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kitesan
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

done.. i cant find it yet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveAndrew
Master Cheater
Reputation: 30

Joined: 02 Sep 2012
Posts: 323

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay how about using step over, instead of single step? You can get further that way:


Also try increasing the trace count

Maybe save a trace and upload it so someone can take a look?

How does the code look? What's weird about it?

Find a "ret" and after that is where the function you were inside of was called from.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kitesan
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's like obfuscated.. and i cant find any ret by the way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveAndrew
Master Cheater
Reputation: 30

Joined: 02 Sep 2012
Posts: 323

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well maybe there's an anti-debug (have you tried the other debug methods?)

If it's not anti-debug then maybe the code your looking at isn't running at the moment your trying to break on it...

To check if the code is even being executed at all and maybe get a return address (if it's on the top of the stack / nothing else pushed into it at the point you hook from)

have ce generate an autoassembler script for you. then modify it slightly

Code:

//ce auto generated script
label(ReturnAddressMaybe)
registersymbol(ReturnAddressMaybe)

newmem:
push eax
mov eax,[esp]
mov [ReturnAddressMaybe],eax
pop eax

originalcode:
//original code here -->
// <--

exit:
jmp returnhere

ReturnAddressMaybe:
dq 0


_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kitesan
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am actually debugging by VEH , because the game have anti-debug tricks



this is a screen of the tracer what do you think? , thanks for your help by the way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveAndrew
Master Cheater
Reputation: 30

Joined: 02 Sep 2012
Posts: 323

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right it is a bit tricky looking code, with all the jumps everywhere...

But anyway, actually I meant to actually use one of the newer features of CE and actually save the trace as a file... File->Save Trace... and upload that so we could scroll down. An image is nice, but being able to load the entire thing and check it more thoroughly is better.

Anyway I forgot to mention if you manually set the breakpoint you can do Debug->Execute till return ( Shift+F8 ) Razz

Also I pieced together a little lua script that stops the debugger immediately after the first encounter of a "ret" or "ret XXXX" as long as the opcode says "ret" in it basically...

Press CTRL+ALT+L or goto Table->Show Cheat Table Lua script and paste this... Then modify "BreakpointAddress to where you want to start debugging. I set it to your top address in that trace as an example.

Then with CE attached to your process, and the debugger also attached (set a breakpoint anywhere to get CE to ask you if you want to attach the debugger and hit yes of course.)

Then you're ready to hit execute on this lua script.
Code:

BreakpointAddress=0x1455ca237 --change this to the address you want
FoundIt=0
debug_removeBreakpoint(BreakpointAddress)

function debugger_onBreakpoint()
    if(FoundIt == 0) then
        debug_continueFromBreakpoint(co_stepover)
        extra, opcode, bytes, addy = splitDisassembledString(disassemble(RIP))

        RetFound = string.find(opcode, "ret")
        if(RetFound) then
            print(opcode)
            FoundIt=1
            debug_removeBreakpoint(BreakpointAddress)
            return 1
        end
    end
    return 0
end

debug_setBreakpoint(BreakpointAddress)


Once the breakpoint is hit, you'll see it tracing automatically for you until it encounters a ret somewhere along the line. If it doesn't you might get stuck and have to close the game! lol... There isn't a maximum trace count it just goes until it finds it! Twisted Evil

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atom0s
Moderator
Reputation: 198

Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Posts: 8517
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Instead of looking for the ret, try looking for the start of the thread. If you can find that, try and get the application to either recreate the thread, or have Cheat Engine immediately attach to the process and suspend it when it starts, and refind the desired code via AoB scanning, set a break at the start of the thread and resume the process.
_________________
- Retired.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites