Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Custom Input for xmm Multiplier With Two Axes

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 1:30 pm    Post subject: Custom Input for xmm Multiplier With Two Axes Reply with quote

This crashes target:
Code:
mulps xmm0,[speed_modifier]


This does not:
Code:
mulss xmm0,[speed_modifier]


However, mulss only modifies one axis.

FYI, this works correctly, but does not allow for custom input:
Code:
addps xmm0,xmm0


How to solve?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LeFiXER
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 20

Joined: 02 Sep 2011
Posts: 1055
Location: 0x90

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rather than me butcher things trying to explain. I can point you in the right direction:
SSE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ParkourPenguin
I post too much
Reputation: 140

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 4289

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd guess speed_modifier isn't aligned to 16 bytes. You also need to have 4 floats at speed_modifier.

e.g.:
Code:
alloc(newmem,4096)
label(speed_modifier)

newmem:
  // your code
  mulps xmm0,[speed_modifier]
  jmp return

align 10 CC
speed_modifier:
  dd (float)2.0 (float)2.0 (float)2.0 (float)2.0

_________________
I don't know where I'm going, but I'll figure it out when I get there.


Last edited by ParkourPenguin on Fri Jan 28, 2022 2:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LeFiXER wrote:
Rather than me butcher things trying to explain. I can point you in the right direction:
SSE
-Thanks. I have scoured so many sites already, but I am still at a loss with this one.

ParkourPenguin wrote:
Code:
align 10 CC
speed_modifier:
  dd (float)2.0 (float)2.0 (float)2.0 (float)2.0
-Thank you. I did not even know that this was possible.

This fixes the crashing, but the multiplier is still only applied to one axis for some reason.

I suspect that it is something really simple, but I just cannot seem to figure this one out. I have been trying to solve this one for hours already.

I really appreciate everyone's help.

EDIT:
I do not understand why this works for both axes:
Code:
fast:
addps xmm0,xmm0

originalcode_speed:
addps xmm0,[rdi+70]
movss xmm12,[rsp+30]
jmp return_speed

freeze_input:
db 0
speed_input:
db 0

dd (float)1.0



...but this only works for one:
Code:
fast:
mulps xmm0,[speed_modifier]

originalcode_speed:
addps xmm0,[rdi+70]
movss xmm12,[rsp+30]
jmp return_speed

freeze_input:
db 0
speed_input:
db 0

align 10 CC
speed_modifier:
dd (float)1.0 (float)1.0 (float)1.0 (float)1.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ParkourPenguin
I post too much
Reputation: 140

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 4289

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 4:38 pm    Post subject: This post has 1 review(s) Reply with quote

++METHOS wrote:
...but this only works for one:
Code:
...
dd (float)1.0 (float)1.0 (float)1.0 (float)1.0
You're multiplying by 1. It shouldn't do anything to any of the components of the vector.

If you simply added a new address `speed_modifier` to the address list and set its value type to float, then it will only affect the first component of the vector. To get the same behaviour as addps, you would need to change all 4 floats at `speed_modifier` to 2.0.
To have one float value broadcast over the entire vector register, you can use shufps:
Code:
fast:
movss xmm12,[speed_modifier]
shufps xmm12,xmm12,0
mulps xmm0,xmm12

originalcode_speed:
addps xmm0,[rdi+70]
movss xmm12,[rsp+30]
jmp return_speed

freeze_input:
db 0
speed_input:
db 0

align 4 CC
speed_modifier:
dd (float)1.0
The game isn't using whatever is in xmm12 there, so it's OK to use.
There is also a broadcast instruction (replaces movss / shufps), but it requires avx.

_________________
I don't know where I'm going, but I'll figure it out when I get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2022 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ParkourPenguin wrote:
To get the same behaviour as addps, you would need to change all 4 floats at `speed_modifier` to 2.0.
To have one float value broadcast over the entire vector register, you can use shufps
-Awesome. This works. Thanks so much.

After spending hours with this, I knew that this was likely the problem, I just did not know how to articulate it. I need to study your code more in order to understand it better.

Thanks, again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites