Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Access Violation in tutorial step 7.... help please

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KGBA
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 30 Jan 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:08 am    Post subject: Access Violation in tutorial step 7.... help please Reply with quote

Up to this point I have passed all steps of the tutorial. But upon completion on this step I get a access violation every time.
I'm running windows 7, 64 bit. Tutorial is x86_64.

Thanks for any help.

UPDATE:

Well, I did go through every step to 7 and I still got the access violation. Here is the code...


[ENABLE]
//code from here to '[DISABLE]' will be used to enable the cheat
alloc(newmem,2048) //2kb should be enough
label(returnhere)
label(originalcode)
label(exit)

newmem: //this is allocated memory, you have read,write,execute access
add [rbx+00000748],2

originalcode:


exit:
jmp returnhere

"Tutorial-x86_64.exe"+2B5A9:
jmp newmem
nop
returnhere:




[DISABLE]
//code from here till the end of the code will be used to disable the cheat
dealloc(newmem)
"Tutorial-x86_64.exe"+2B5A9:
dec [rbx+00000748]
//Alt: db FF 8B 48 07 00 00

---------------------------------------------------

I have tried this about 15 times with several tutorials methods and no luck. Can you tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks again.


Last edited by KGBA on Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25291
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

post the script that you are injecting and we might give a hint on what you're doing wrong
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Geri
Moderator
Reputation: 111

Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 5636

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or he just get an access violation because of some tutorial bug. When I skip some steps, sometimes I have access violation too at random points.
_________________
My trainers can be found here: http://www.szemelyesintegracio.hu/cheats

If you are interested in any of my crappy articles/tutorials about CE and game hacking, you can find them here:
http://www.szemelyesintegracio.hu/cheats/41-game-hacking-articles

Don't request cheats or updates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KGBA
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 30 Jan 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:05 pm    Post subject: Access Violation in tutorial step 7.... help please Reply with quote

Ok. I did skip some steps. I will try it again doing all the steps and let you know how it goes.

Thanks for your replies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krude
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 12 Jan 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried the tutorial too and got an access violation when going from step 4 to 5.

Whenever i try to "Change value" on step 5, i also get an access violation.

Didn't skip any steps.

Tutorial-x86_64.exe at Win7 64bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25291
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

perhaps your previous editing caused a problem (especially if freezing stuff)

as for the code injection part, it looks like the code injection has a problem with 64-bit processes (Specifically when used inside auto assembler, standalone works fine)

So try the 32-bit tutorial instead

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping


Last edited by Dark Byte on Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25291
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

edit:
ok, this is easily fixable by using a new feature in ce 6.0 : Specifying the alloc region

try this script instead:
Code:

alloc(newmem,2048,"Tutorial-x86_64.exe") //2kb should be enough
label(returnhere)
label(originalcode)
label(exit)

newmem: //this is allocated memory, you have read,write,execute access
//place your code here

originalcode:
add [rbx+00000748],2

exit:
jmp returnhere

"Tutorial-x86_64.exe"+2B5A9:
jmp newmem
nop
returnhere:




Notice the difference between alloc(newmem,2048) and alloc(newmem,2048,"Tutorial-x86_64.exe")
The new line allocates memory closest to the address of the start of the tutorial base address. (which is 100000000)

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Geri
Moderator
Reputation: 111

Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 5636

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aha, so there are new AA features in CE 6.0 after all. Smile
Is there, any way to figure them out without reading and understanding the whole source of CE? Like some log or something? (I know SVN but it is waaaaay too long and it containes all bugfixes, not just new features.)

_________________
My trainers can be found here: http://www.szemelyesintegracio.hu/cheats

If you are interested in any of my crappy articles/tutorials about CE and game hacking, you can find them here:
http://www.szemelyesintegracio.hu/cheats/41-game-hacking-articles

Don't request cheats or updates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25291
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's in the helpfile. Of course, not really marked as new, but just compare it to ce 5.6's help

anyhow: ALLOC(allocname,sizeinbytes, preferedregion OPTIONAL) //same as label, but allocates the memory it points to itself

and as far as I remember it's the only difference, and doesn't really have a use for 32-bit users

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Geri
Moderator
Reputation: 111

Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 5636

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah really, I didn't read the already existing AA options carefully because I didn't think they have been changed. Smile

It is still good to know, thanks.

_________________
My trainers can be found here: http://www.szemelyesintegracio.hu/cheats

If you are interested in any of my crappy articles/tutorials about CE and game hacking, you can find them here:
http://www.szemelyesintegracio.hu/cheats/41-game-hacking-articles

Don't request cheats or updates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KGBA
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 30 Jan 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you both for the help. The code correction of coarse did the trick.

I have been using CE 6 and my n00b question would be, is there a step I should be doing that was not included in the tutorial to have this line auto into the code or do I need to put it in manually each time?

Thanks for your time on this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25291
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just do it manually for now.
Of course, seeing the current amount of 64-bit games out at the moment I don't think it's going to be a big problem

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites