Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


CE next update feature

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  

do you want to see and use this function in next update?
Yes?
80%
 80%  [ 8 ]
No!
20%
 20%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 10

Author Message
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 20

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 10:28 am    Post subject: CE next update feature Reply with quote

so while i was playing these days and searching for some values in games, i ended up with a game that have encrypted values, encrypted values take longer time to find than normal values

so an idea popped up, what if theres a function that allow us to select couple addresses and measure which one of these address changes faster than the other



it will be measured in milliseconds.
lets call it
    "find out which of the selected addresses changes faster"
it quite useful for multiple things:

lets say our weapon ammo is 25, we searched for it and ended up with 5 results.
Code:

DDDD[AAAA]: 25
DDDD[AAAB]: 25
DDDD[AAAC]: 25
DDDD[AAAD]: 25
DDDD[AAAE]: 25

we dont know which one of these addresses is holding our actual ammo.
4 of these address are holding our display value, only 1 of them is our actual ammo value.

so instead of wasting time and trying out which one of them is what we need, we do "find out which of the selected addresses changes faster" and take one shoot, then its going to see which one changed faster.
and of course its going to be the actual ammo address is the one that changed faster than other values. (faster than display value)

then it will be displayed like this:
Code:
[AAAA]: 25 // this changed in 12ms
[AAAB]: 25 // this changed in 7ms
[AAAC]: 25 // this changed in 3ms
[AAAD]: 25 // this changed in 1ms << this is what we are looking for!
[AAAE]: 25 // this changed in 5ms


and baaam we do found it without testing!



the same entire process gonna be used for encrypted values too!
we ended up with 16 results for example.
we select them and ..... the same thing.

NOTE: for people who dont know about encrypted values, lets take number "100" once encrypted, its going to be for example something like 182, you take damage and your health decreased to "99" that doesnt mean 182 going to be 181 because you lost 1 HP. NO it might go higher something like 200 or it might fall down to 0.
value encryption range depends on the size of that value type.
the larger is the value type the larger the number.
if we take 4BYTE encrypted value it might be something like 4billion something, it changes to 1283 then it go up to 1million.
so just keep in mind its a crazy thing.




and please rate/vote if you want this feature in next CE update.
POLL ends after 3 days.

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Jul 26, 2020
STN wrote:
i am a sweetheart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 20

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i mainly wrote this for encrypted values, since you end up with a range between 25-125.

so if this feature available, ill be able to find what i need quicker.
simply the value that changes fast its probably gonna be what im looking for.

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Jul 26, 2020
STN wrote:
i am a sweetheart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ParkourPenguin
I post too much
Reputation: 140

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 4299

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That timing would be better expressed on the order of microseconds or even nanoseconds. At that scale, events like context switches are no longer negligible, and the precision of the measurements is bad enough that the result of relative comparisons (e.g. this one changed before this one) can't be guaranteed. Even if it was on the order of milliseconds, it still can't be guaranteed because the game's thread could be running while CE's thread could be waiting for a time slice. You're asking for a feature that isn't viable.

As an alternative, you could set breakpoints on multiple instructions and see which order they fire in. That's easy enough for users to do with current features. If you want to automate it, use Lua.

_________________
I don't know where I'm going, but I'll figure it out when I get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 20

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ehm technically i dont understand it that much. its sad thats not guaranteed.

but thank you very much for sharing such a good things that didnt came in my mind. which is setting break points on the instructions. but this remain useless IF you have more than 100 values and instruction.
and remains useless for ending up with over 100 [encrypted] values.

but really thanks i didnt think about it. Rolling Eyes

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Jul 26, 2020
STN wrote:
i am a sweetheart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Setting breakpoints even with 5 results is not a viable solution, in my opinion.

Generally, when dealing with multiple, encrypted values, it is best to batch-add them to your cheat table and just freeze them in groups to isolate the correct address as editing certain encrypted values can cause the target to crash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 20

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah true, and this is my problem.
whenever.i edit / freeze couple of them. game crash.

i know theres a way. and i can do it.
buy im lazy to do it.

its break and trace. i can take each value separately and see what writes to it. and then break and trace.

in break and trace it will show the value before it gets encrypted on the stack. << this the best thing if i have a range between 5-25.

but in my case no. i ends with at least 150.

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Jul 26, 2020
STN wrote:
i am a sweetheart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should be able to isolate the correct address by freezing, but if not, maybe try freezing one-by-one. It takes time, but it is sometimes necessary.

Alternatively, I have found that reverting the value back to what it was before it changed can work. The value needs to be exactly the same as before, though. Fortunately, CE shows you what that value is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 20

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes methos, it will return black instead of red.
EDIT: i mean if they put a specific number for their encryption. << which i found a game use this method



but some game have it totally random even for the same number. << but technically not possible since how would they revert it back .. unless they save that random encryption value. still doesnt make much sense.

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Jul 26, 2020
STN wrote:
i am a sweetheart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LostForever
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 06 Oct 2006
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This would actually help a lot.

When doing scans for text (Something I've been doing a lot of lately) you'll get a lot of copies.

I usually either find a pointer (can be a pain depending on the program\game) or do something like this:

Scanned Value: "TestMe"

Change each result to "AestMe" "BestMe" "CestMe", etc.

One of them will usually be the original and will therefore update but in my most recent scan I got 197+ copies and because nothing (not even TitanHide w/ ScyllaHide+x64dbg) compares to Cheat Engines DBVM in terms of anti-anti-debugging I use Cheat Engine a lot.

This would save a lot of time.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites