Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CT preparation plugin.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine Source -> Plugin development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
h3x1c
Master Cheater

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 8:28 am    Post subject: CT preparation plugin. Reply with quote

I know this is something that's stupidly simple to make, but I'm a complete newbie with programming, so I just wanted to ask what the best path would be to clean a CT in preparation to be shared.

So, basically, an automated way within CE to delete data structures, stuff in the code list, etc.--everything but the cheats themselves.

I came up with a Python script that will do the job, but I'd love to have this as an option under Table (Table -> Clean CT) or something of the sort.

If this takes 2 seconds to cook up and you don't mind, feel free; however, I'm just interested in direction at this point. Lua? Delphi? Something else?

Thanks for any advice!

I post too much

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The most straightforward way would be to edit the CT file itself. If you only want to save the address list, delete everything unimportant outside the CheatEntries tag.
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<CheatTable CheatEngineTableVersion="21">
  <CheatEntries>
    <!-- Leave everything in here -->
  </CheatEntries>
</CheatTable>

Not everything in CE is exposed to Lua as of this point, so you won't be able to remove everything from the currently opened CT. You could, however, open a CT file on disk in Lua and remove what you want.