Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Psurg Shark Attack.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
striderskunk
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 Oct 2013
Posts: 14
Location: High Desert

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:24 pm    Post subject: Psurg Shark Attack. Reply with quote

So after a long while of using other peoples cheat tables, I've decided to actually try and find my own cheats. So I'm using a rather simple PC shootem up called Shark Attack. So in the game, the shot gets upgraded the more power you pick up from it, maxing out at 200. Using CE and looking for the value, I found one address. However I run into problems. I change the value, but the value does not change or freeze at the value I set. Despite this, when the screen transitions to a new stage or boss screen THEN the value changes to the one I set, but still doesn't freeze there, still lowering. So I could live with a cheat giving me max power at the start of every level and boss, however when I quit Shark attack, then restart it and try to use the cheat table I saved, the cheat doesn't work anymore. I have to once again find the address. So, as you probably noticed, I am rather ignorant when it comes to cheat engine. I tried, but like most beginners, I am a pointer's tutorial failure.
Don't know much about programming, and terms like Aob scans and dynamic addresses might as well be Moonspeak for all I know about them. Any help would be much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Rydian
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 31

Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 1358

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://forum.cheatengine.org/viewtopic.php?t=570083

This steps you through actually making an AOB scan and edit. As in it shows you what to click and what to type to do it.

Chances are you'll want to find what writes to the code normally (some code that does it every frame or something) and edit that to set it to a specific value.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
striderskunk
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 Oct 2013
Posts: 14
Location: High Desert

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, managed to get to step 5 of your AOB tutorial before I got lost. Saw the video and that helped a little as well. So with the things I learned, I tried to apply it to Shark Attack. Found the address that controls power, did the "What writes to this address" thing, Used that Auto Assembler thing and put the script in the cheat table. However nothing happened. I tried editing the code and changed the mov to a comment, Nothing, nothing is happening, with the odd exception that the power value still resets to 200.

[/code]
{ Game : sharkattack.exe
Version:
Date : 2015-07-24
Author : Alex

This script does blah blah blah
}

[ENABLE]
//code from here to '[DISABLE]' will be used to enable the cheat



aobscanmodule(powah,sharkattack.exe,89 56 08 5F 5E C3) // should be unique
alloc(newmem,$1000)

label(code)
label(return)

newmem:

code:
mov [esi+08],edx
pop edi
pop esi
jmp return

powah:
jmp code
return:
registersymbol(powah)

[DISABLE]
//code from here till the end of the code will be used to disable the cheat
powah:
db 89 56 08 5F 5E

unregistersymbol(powah)
dealloc(newmem)

{
// ORIGINAL CODE - INJECTION POINT: "sharkattack.exe"+4914

"sharkattack.exe"+4900: 8B 41 0C - mov eax,[ecx+0C]
"sharkattack.exe"+4903: 89 46 0C - mov [esi+0C],eax
"sharkattack.exe"+4906: 5E - pop esi
"sharkattack.exe"+4907: C3 - ret
"sharkattack.exe"+4908: 8B 49 08 - mov ecx,[ecx+08]
"sharkattack.exe"+490B: 5F - pop edi
"sharkattack.exe"+490C: 89 4E 08 - mov [esi+08],ecx
"sharkattack.exe"+490F: 5E - pop esi
"sharkattack.exe"+4910: C3 - ret
"sharkattack.exe"+4911: 8B 51 08 - mov edx,[ecx+08]
// ---------- INJECTING HERE ----------
"sharkattack.exe"+4914: 89 56 08 - mov [esi+08],edx
"sharkattack.exe"+4917: 5F - pop edi
"sharkattack.exe"+4918: 5E - pop esi
// ---------- DONE INJECTING ----------
"sharkattack.exe"+4919: C3 - ret
"sharkattack.exe"+491A: 90 - nop
"sharkattack.exe"+491B: 90 - nop
"sharkattack.exe"+491C: 90 - nop
"sharkattack.exe"+491D: 90 - nop
"sharkattack.exe"+491E: 90 - nop
"sharkattack.exe"+491F: 90 - nop
"sharkattack.exe"+4920: 8B 44 24 04 - mov eax,[esp+04]
"sharkattack.exe"+4924: 85 C0 - test eax,eax
"sharkattack.exe"+4926: 74 41 - je sharkattack.exe+4969
}
That's what I got so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Zanzer
I post too much
Reputation: 126

Joined: 09 Jun 2013
Posts: 3278

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If commenting out "//mov [esi+08],edx" did nothing, then you either have the wrong instruction or the wrong address.
Did you try manually changing the address you found to see if it changed the value in game?
If so, were there any other instructions that wrote to the address?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
striderskunk
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 Oct 2013
Posts: 14
Location: High Desert

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No idea what you mean by manually changing the address, Are you talking about changing the value of the address I found? cause that leads to the Shenanigans of my first post, or are you talking about changing something in the Auto Assembler Script besides "//mov [esi+08],edx" Also while restarting and rescanning for the address, I notice that it's not a full number that the value goes down when I shoot, Like if I shoot for a half a second, and stop shooting, the value won't change, like every number is worth 2 or 3 bullets. Dunno if that helps. If I had to guess, it's probably wrong address, however that would not explain why my Power count DOES change to the value I set when I transition screens. Also while it's logging, there are no new address that write to it, even when I try to change the value.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Zanzer
I post too much
Reputation: 126

Joined: 09 Jun 2013
Posts: 3278

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mean the address you originally scanned and found.
When you changed that number, did it actually have an effect in game?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
striderskunk
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 Oct 2013
Posts: 14
Location: High Desert

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's the issue from the first post, Changing the value has no immediate effect, but when the screen transitions to another stage. then it changes the value to what I set when the stage starts, however the value does not freeze, it still lowers when I consume ammo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Rydian
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 31

Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 1358

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may be finding and editing the max instead or something like that?

Tried an unknown initial value scan and then decreased/unchanged to get the actual value?

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
striderskunk
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 Oct 2013
Posts: 14
Location: High Desert

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once again I tackle Shark Attack, so having come back a little refreshed I tried Cheat Engine's Tutorial and completed pointers and code injection thanks to that topic and video of yours Rydain.

But I digress... so I did an unknown initial value scan, and odd things happened. First time I kept rescanning and I managed to eliminate ALL the addresses, which was rather frusterating. The next set I tried to scan, kept decreasing value scan and scan until I had it down to around a thousand addresses, and I couldn't get it lower with decreasing value, so I didn't do nothing in the game and scanned for an unchanged value, that narrowed it down to like 30 addresses, I thought I was getting somewhere, but going back to the game and using the power didn't change any of those 30 values, so I tried to use all the power to see if any of the values changed, but none did, they didn't change until the screen transitioned to the boss stage, and then the values became questionmarks.

TL:DR Unknown Initial Value scanning did not work for me...

It's rather frustrating because this is a simple and old shoot em up game, that's really hard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Rydian
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 31

Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 1358

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Link to it?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
striderskunk
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 Oct 2013
Posts: 14
Location: High Desert

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, well hmmm, this is interesting, so a long time ago I paid 5 bucks to digitally download the game, but it would seem that now it's free, and updated. Well, I mean the whole point was to cheat to beat it on hard and unlock Fracas, but funny enough the updated version has Fracas unlocked from the start. Still, I would like to learn and make a cheat table for this game.

hxxps://mega.co.nz/#!CMkEyTTJ!95CRhkQKsdWzSRGw7mSzUTrTvGQISkjpco49758d66s and I can't post Url's yet....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Rydian
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 31

Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 1358

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup title screen is "Version 2.0 Freeware" on this so let's see what I can-
Holy hell Mayhem in a game? Why was I not aware of this before?!
Haha the ship is named "Mode 7", I get it.

Okay anyways... I can't even find lives. The values definitely seem to be encrypted or something.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
striderskunk
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 Oct 2013
Posts: 14
Location: High Desert

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well enjoy the game and thanks for the help, glad it wasn't my noob status that was stopping me lol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites