Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Help/suggestions needed!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine Tutorials
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sweetfish
How do I cheat?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 1:00 pm    Post subject: Help/suggestions needed! Reply with quote

Hello!

I am 100% new to this & even though I personally dont cheat in games, I really do enjoy trying to make working cheats/trainers. It almost feels like a game in itself. Detective-work sort of stuff Wink I started learning 2 days ago.

I understand how to find pointers but I am limited to finding them through the pointer scan. After I have found one I check the memory of the adress that it points to & then data dissect it (with the last offset in the pointer subtracted) & try to find other values within the same area of the initial value I found. When I've found other values I write down their offsets and simply copy the initial pointer with the last offset replaced with the offsets I managed to find. I have moderate luck in doing this. I managed to find the health of all my characters in Wasteland 2 like this, but I know that I am probably doing something wrong or making it harder than it should be.

When searching for pointers in CE through the normal search scan I should always try to find the green (static) ones, right? And they should always be the same type as my initial value? Sometimes I've followed pointers back until I found no results at all on 4K but there would be some results on byte for example. Not really sure what I am doing wrong there but I am betting that it's got something to do with my lack of ASM knowledge.