Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Android version of Cheat Engine(arm only, so not bluestacks)
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 341

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 19986
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 12:02 am    Post subject: Android version of Cheat Engine(arm only, so not bluestacks) This post has 1 review(s) Reply with quote

Here is a first version of Cheat Engine for android.
It's my first android app so expect crashes, and weird/nonconforming behavior (just like the normal ce)
http://cheatengine.org/download/CheatEngine.apk

requires root of course


It will probably only work on a small subset of systems (mainly the newer ones)

Please leave your feedback

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Rydian
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 29

Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 1358

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tablet, Transformer Prime, Android 4.2.1, it's working here.
Did some basic 4 byte known and unknown scans and was able to edit stuff properly.

- The cursor defaults to the FastScan alignment window instead of the actual value search window.

- In landscape mode, the keyboard pushes the "Reset Scan" button op until it overlays the "Next" scan button.
http://s15.postimg.org/4v6xxfe63/Screenshot_2015_02_26_06_21_57.png

- Any chance you can make an overlay icon on the screen to tap to get to CE again? Using the recent apps button works but can be a little slow depending on the game.

- After scanning and looking at the scan results, I hit the Back button out of habit to get back to the scan options window, but that backs out of the instance instead. This is a design thing so I'm not sure what to suggest here, but a quicker method to jump back and forth between CE and the app being targeted is probably needed.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pingo
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 8

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 571

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So far so good, no crashes.
I used another scanner in the past and one feature that would be nice to see is the ability to get the process without looking through a list.
A process is hard has hell to find cause android sometimes names them strange names.

That other scanner would overlay over the current active process.

Note 3
Android 4.4.2 Rooted

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rydian
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 29

Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 1358

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've used scanners that just assumed the previous process was the target, but let you pick via icon.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveAndrew
Master Cheater
Reputation: 30

Joined: 02 Sep 2012
Posts: 323

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pingo wrote:

Note 3
Android 4.4.2 Rooted


+1 for Note 3 [4.3 Jellybean /w root] Very Happy

How can we do some code injection though? Is debugging for ceserver android working yet? I was previously messing around with gdb for android last time I tried it, but gdb only seems to be helpful where you have source code / debugging symbols available and know how to set that up.

Code:

ldr r0,[ArmAssemblerIsEasyRight?]
cmp r0,#1
beq SureItIs
mvneq r1,[NoItIsnt]
SureItIs:
bx lr

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 341

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 19986
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

code injection is currently only in the main ce gui (windows)
specifically, the exe in this archive: http://cheatengine.org/temp/ceserverupdate.rar kthe protocol got changed)
once ceserver has been loaded you can connect to it with the windows build as well

it has some basic arm assembling and script support like speedhack, symbols, allocs and .so injection, but not yet thumb, and debugging has only worked on tegra cores (samsung doesn't seem to work)

i might be able to add aa scripting to the android gui though (the addresslist is actually just a port of the TMemoryRecord of ce)

Oh yes guys, from time to time, clear the app cache of cheat engine.
Since the app doesn't always get a proper termination the cache can grow a bit. (I guess I can add a automatic delete on new launch since I don't think android supports multiple instances of the same app to run at the same time)

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Kyokyonos
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 Apr 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking good here. I tested it on a generic mediatek-quadcore china-phone.

Edit: Actually couldn't get it to connect locally a second time which could be a device issue ... too lazy to reboot.

I still prefer using ceserver with CE though since I'm more used to manipulating things with a mouse and keyboard than a touch screen. I'm actually still using that one one ceserver compiled (by greyman) for Andy (32bit) that just has basic memory scanning. Although there's no assembling among other features, I'm still very thankful you've made this all possible since AOB type scanning and dissecting data structures achieve satisfying results compared to competing apk-based solutions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 341

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 19986
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try the ceserver build and ce exe in http://cheatengine.org/temp/ceserverupdate.rar

it comes with a 32 bit ceserver build as well, and includes some fixes that make it more stable and faster as well (and module injection might work, so aa scripts that do alloc might work now as well. I say might as i have not tested it)

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Kyokyonos
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 Apr 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm...

I tried it out but in my case, CE in Windows (using the included executable) becomes frequently unresponsive from the point where it's initially attached even if no scans are being made. It's as if CE's process is suspended for 2 seconds, resumes for half a second, then repeats.

Pretty strange considering the emulator is running fine. It doesn't happen (or atleast happens to a negligible extent) when using the binary with minimal features, so perhaps this will have to be feature trade off.

The possible associated errors on the android side are a considerable amount of:

Code:

.
.
.
Failed to open [vdso]
Failed to open [vdso]
Failed to open [vdso]
.
.
.
ptrace attach failed (pid=2435). This system might not be properly rooted.
ptrace attach failed (pid=2435). This system might not be properly rooted
ptrace attach failed (pid=2435). This system might not be properly rooted
.
.
.
Already opened. Returning same handle


They begin appearing the moment the client connects to the ceserver (and before attachment). I'm guessing it's a compatibility issue on my side. The hanging on the windows side happens during the wall of "Failed to open [vdso]", and briefly goes away when the other errors appear. I'm still able to scan among other things though if I'm patient enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 341

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 19986
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

those are unrelated errors. ptrace fail is most likely just when it tries to open the ceserver process when in the processlist(which won't work)

failed to open vdso is an expected fail (ce will handle it differently upon failure)
already opened is a message that everything is working well (no need to allocate duplicate memory)

when it freezes the last message may be important, but it' s possible there may be no log message for it.
if you have dbgview, try running that on windows so you can see the windows client log


for the behavior: does it freeze when the addresslist is empty, or only when there is something in it.
does it only freeze when memview is open, or also when it's closed?

seeing the emulator runs decently, it might be an network speed issue, try changing the compression value in network settings.

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Kyokyonos
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 Apr 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The unresponsiveness happens the moment the CE client connects to the ceserver running on the emulator-- the 'hiccups' are there from this point, regardless of whether or not scans have been made or memory view has been opened-- it occurs even if an android process has yet to be selected.

The time CE is frozen seems to correspond with "Failed to open [vdso]" which is output in the android terminal at a high frequency (maybe about 100 times in 2 seconds) and then briefly interrupted by about 25 ptrace errors (during which the CE client briefly becomes responsive again). The previously described errors are begin looping at a high frequency the moment the connection is made.

DbgView has nothing interesting regarding Cheat Engine, and I initially tried playing around with the compression but it had no effect on the the client's periodic unresponsiveness (probably because the VM connection bridge speeds from the host to the VM are fast anyways?).

I feel bad for hijacking this release thread, so I think I'll post this on the bug/issue tracker where you could look at it when you're bored later. Although I'd like to mess around with code injection, the previous version is still usable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 341

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 19986
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've uploaded a new version http://cheatengine.org/download/CheatEngine.apk

It has some fixes/updates:
String size support and unicode supports in memory records (and size for aob's)
Module size is now properly reported (so static memory in zero initialized memory now also shows)
The reset scan button now won't get affected by the keyboard
Clicking back will now go to the scanner tab, and if you click back again, will close the CE gui and go back to the previous app
There is now a CE logo overlay you can click to open the CE gui. It will ask you to open the current foreground app (if it's not disabled in settings) You can drag the ce logo anywhere you like
The notification area also has an option to go to CE
Editing strings in the addresslist will now show up as such
Getting and Setting values in the addresslist is now done using CECore's native memoryrecord instead of java
Besides the process list there is now also an app list
It shows the currently opened process

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Doctor Death
Cheater
Reputation: 1

Joined: 26 Apr 2014
Posts: 42
Location: Breaking Code

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd totally check this out, that is, if I actually had an android device.

Does anyone have any images of this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rydian
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 29

Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 1358

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh man, it is so much better to use now. Can jump back and forth so smoothly, I love it.

But uh... how do we close it now?

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 341

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 19986
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in the android app manager configuration screen you can force close it
(if you mean hide the celogo, go to settings and disable the overlay)

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 1 of 16

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites