Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Can't find a value, all the basic tricks fail
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pastel
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 7:07 pm    Post subject: Can't find a value, all the basic tricks fail Reply with quote

Hey there.
I'm trying to hack a rogue-like made in the .gblorb format.

I searched a bit and didn't see anything specific to hacking glulx interpreters or similar. If I managed to skip something, sorry.

Anyway, to my problem:

I have a few points to distribute along the stats when I create a character. I would like to increase these, preferably during creation for two reasons:
1- In-game changes aren't fixed values. It's a random in/decrease by 1 to 3.
2- Some of those stats are only available to be changed during creation.

I've tried the basic, double with extreme rounding and truncated, byte search, even double*2+1 and 4bytes*8+6 (I was desperate >_>) etc. but all I managed to find was that the value isn't the actual number (sometimes I get 0 results for 30 when the available points are still 30) and that any keypress (as in, moving the cursor up and down) changes the values that would possibly contain what I'm searching for.

All I got as a base right now is a string in the screen. This string, again, changes position. Searching for 30, spending a point and searching for 29 gives me 0 results.

I do have some experience with debugging and assembly, but all the time I had to do that, I had an idea where to start in the code.

So yeah... Anyone could give me a pointer? I'm willing to help in any manner, except maybe posting the actual game as it's 18+ and I'm not sure if the forum rules allow that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rydian
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 29

Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 1358

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1 - Make sure you're attaching to the right process of it's being run through an interpreter. It might be spawning a second thing that handles the game logic or something.

2 - If you can't find numbers, then stop searching for numbers. Do unknown initial search, then do not ever type any numbers in. Do increased, decreased, changed, and unchanged to filter it out. Do NOT do "increased by x" or "decreased by x", do not put in any numbers at all, just search by logic.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pastel
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It spawns a single process. Tested it with Process Explorer, and it's definitely a single process. It has a bunch of threads, but that shouldn't affect anything as the possible results don't keep changing without input.

I also tried the unknown search, and results were inconclusive. Repeating the search by changed / unchanged and refining it to 100 or so results (which takes around 50 searches) gave me a completely different set of addresses that were possible results in three different tries.
Going just by increased / decreased quickly drops me to 0 results as well.

On a side note, I tried a different interpreter, Gargoyle, instead of WinGlulxe. The exact same thing happens. Those are the only two officially supported interpreters for the game, so...

Directly hacking the savegame would be possible but very time consuming as each new character I create to save the game means a different map and a different file size. I fear this will be my only resort.


EDIT:
Did some research and as I imagined, it is interpreting some sort of bytecode. This means the values are probably on some sort of a kind-of-a-stack structure due to local variables?
WinGlulxe is your normal interpreter, decoding it all the time, Gargoyle seems to use Git which is a just-in-time interpreter. Not sure which would be easier for me to hack.

Maybe jerry-rigging some debug tools into the source code could help me, but seriously, I'd rather attempt to hack the savegames before...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lolze
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 Apr 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bump for this. I've been trying to figure this out for ages
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NoMoreBSoD
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 3

Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no idea how to do this but I would love to try. Where can I find the game ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pastel
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NoMoreBSoD wrote:
I have no idea how to do this but I would love to try. Where can I find the game ?


It's called Trap Quest.

I hope I'm allowed to post the name of the game... I mean, you can link to Newgrounds from here, and that site contains porn. :p
If any mod disagrees, feel free to delete/edit this post, but please PM the info to the guy who asked. Might as well let him have a shot at it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lightfinger
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 18 Feb 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never tried finding the value for the character creation points, but it's pretty easy to adjust everything during normal play.

The gluxle interpreter has a few built-in debug commands that helps a lot.

"showme" will list out everything the interpreter knows about a entity in the game, so "showme me" will list out your character and all of their stats. Do something that changes a stat, use showme to find the value, then use the undo command to go back a couple of steps (since "showme" counts as something to be undone).

There's also the "purloin" command that gives you any item in the game. (i.e. purloin red can)

Sadly the person making the game is planning to remove the debug commands from their next version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pastel
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Purloin is custom code as far as I know. At least that's what I gathered from the author's posts.
Where did you learn about showme? I've looked for interpreter debug commands and never found any.

And oh well. As long as the save structure remains similar, there's nothing stopping me from just editing the save game after showme lets me know what are the exact values I have to search for in the save.

As for the debug commands, I threw some money at him, so at least undo will be allowed to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lolze
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 Apr 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible to make a cheat table for this game?

Like say with Dark Souls, where I can just open a table and start setting stats to whatever I want.

I tried doing it with just some numbers I figured out (fatigue, soreness, breastsize, heelskill) but when I reloaded the game and loaded the table, the numbers wouldnt work.

So I tried finding the pointer for Breast Size and I couldnt find anything.

Find what accesses and find what writes were blank for over 5 minutes. Using find pointer yielded nothing either.

gyazo[.]com/3668c66a0ec5646584288e639a8a0f8e.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pastel
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It should be possible, but that doesn't means it'll be anything close to easy.

It'd be easier to make a table on where things are stored in the saved games and edit it there. At least I imagine the savegames are somewhat stable other than the map and the drops, those can change in size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lolze
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 Apr 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The maps stay the same in savegames.

I have one gamesave I usually start with where if I want to get out of the dungeon quickly, the stairs up are always in the same spot, as is the pink sprinkler trap, and the bukakke trap.

I would also like to say a new version is out. That means that we can no longer use debug commands such as Perloin, Showme, and Undo.

Our best bet would probably be to save edit, or to use version 5 as a guideline as to what t search for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pastel
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lolze wrote:
The maps stay the same in savegames.


Not after you faint, which was what I was trying to say.

I'll give it a try at hacking the saves when I have the time, I'll post in this thread whatever I find.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jelhammer
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 04 Mar 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the current version of trap quest...current to now...try multiplying the number by 65536 to search, when creating the character i searched for 0 first, added strength, then searched for 65536 and 2 results showed, i changed it to 1310720 and added another point and it jumped to 20...which was well over max
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lolze
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 01 Apr 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice find!

Hey, has anyone been able to get cheatengine to work with DayDreamer?

I've been trying to get that to work forever
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Garzhad
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 13 Mar 2014
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've run into a similar wall with another .gblorb game. Flexible Survival.

None of the standard, tutorial given ways of finding points seems to yield anything useable. One thing writes to it, 3 access it, but searching the values as instructed in videos yields nothing usable.
Which is annoying, as it's otherwise simple to find things using the engine.

All the items and attributes are in Value Type: Byte. Uponclosing/reopening/rehooking the game, only 2 numbers in an items address change.
For instance, the medkit is 06AC9D46, upon reloading it might be 06AA9D46, first 2 and last four are always the same.

Adding items manually isn't too hard, simply have to add the itemcodes in the inventorylist save and then reload your SaveWord, but that method also undoes certain things you've done, additions placed on your pet.

Still have to locate Sanity and Libido again everytime, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
Page 1 of 23

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites