Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


CE change register

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Discussions -> Guests
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Loens
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:00 pm    Post subject: CE change register Reply with quote

Well, if i change the register, f. e i change ebx to 00000007, it does a breakpoint.

Is the register changed now as long as the breakpoint is in?

is it normal that it doesnt break then anymore? Like, it just continues.
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't really talk about changing a register globally. It's a physical thing, but it's being accessed all the time by all the programs running and the OS itself. It only really makes sense in the context of an application or a thread of execution, and even then it isn't really practical to talk of freezing it or whatever.
Back to top
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25287
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could do a conditional breakpoint at the code you wish to break when EBX becomes 7

Set a breakpoint, rightclick it, or go to the breakpoint property window, and set the break condition to "EBX==7"

Tip: You can also do that for "Find what accesses/writes" breakpoints so they only record that occasion

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Loens
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i want to do it like this..

Let's say, the adress breaks and ebx is 00000007

if success, it keeps 00000007. if fail it changes to 00000001

So how can i keep 00000007, so it wont change to 00000001?
Back to top
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25287
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do a change register on breakpoint type of breakpoint, and set EBX to 7
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Loens
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So i put a right click, change register at this location, then at ebx i put "00000007"?

So its 00000007 as long as i have the BP in?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Discussions -> Guests All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites