Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Why attaching the debugger always crashes my games?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MuhammadJA
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:09 pm    Post subject: Why attaching the debugger always crashes my games? Reply with quote

I'm not very expert with CE, but I was successful in the auto assemble and the debugger stage. I even managed to make my own infinite ammo script for RAGE and both L4D games.

However, why some games always crashes everytime I try to find out what writes to certain addresses? Does it have something to do with which CE version I should use?

If someone can give me a little tips that would be greatly appreciated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The software that you are attaching to probably has debugger detection. You can try using a different debugger method; Edit/Settings/Debugger Options. If it still crashes, then the software might have some anti-cheat scheme integrated...so you may have to use Stealth Edit plugin for any injections. There are no guarantees without stripping the protection(s). If the game is popular enough, you might be able to find a cracked version that has been stripped of its protection wrapper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MuhammadJA
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried all debugger methods and it still crashes. One of the methods freezes my laptop and gave me the blue screen. Isn't there a different method instead of using a cracked game?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is always a solution, depending on who you ask. If you mention the name of the game, maybe someone already has a solution that they can offer...or, at least can tell you what you're dealing with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25291
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try the veh debugger with exception breakpoints
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
MuhammadJA
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to make a script for Call of Juarez Gunslinger. There are also some games like Payday and serious sam hd where it crashes everytime I attach the debugger in them.

@ Dark Byte

Which option is the exception breakpoint? because I tried all 3 debugger methods and no luck so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25291
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:14 am    Post subject: This post has 1 review(s) Reply with quote

6.3 has besides int3 and hardware breakpoints now also exception breakpoints
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
MuhammadJA
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WOW! It worked! Thank you very much! Is this safe BTW? I tried it in offline mode. I don't want to get steam banned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Byte- The Page Exceptions feature is very nice. Thanks!

When using VEH w/page exceptions, when I right-click on an instruction to see what addresses it accesses, I get nothing. Is this normal?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25291
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Page exceptions only handle execute exceptions if the target is no-execute aware.
You may be able to get results if you call setProcessDEPpolicy (or whatever that function name was) .( Use createThread)

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MuhammadJA
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK Dark Byte, I'm gonna need your help one more time.

I made an Infinite Ammo script for Borderlands 1 but the problem is that I had to reload because everytime I shoot, the ammo just go right to the remaining ammunition I have. Yes it is Infinite Ammo, but I want to have it so that I don't reload.

Here's the original script without changes:

[ENABLE]
//code from here to '[DISABLE]' will be used to enable the cheat
alloc(newmem,2048)
label(returnhere)
label(originalcode)
label(exit)

newmem: //this is allocated memory, you have read,write,execute access
//place your code here

originalcode:
movss [ebp+68],xmm1

exit:
jmp returnhere

"Borderlands.exe"+8DBAA8:
jmp newmem
returnhere:




[DISABLE]
//code from here till the end of the code will be used to disable the cheat
dealloc(newmem)
"Borderlands.exe"+8DBAA8:
movss [ebp+68],xmm1
//Alt: db F3 0F 11 4D 68


What changes should I make to it so that I don't have to reload?


Last edited by MuhammadJA on Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sp4rx
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 64
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you get infinite ammo when you enable the script ???

I think it must be
Code:
movs [esi+68],#99
in the enable part, under original code .
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MuhammadJA
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope. That's just the original script fresh from the debugger with no modification in it.

This what I did to the original code to make it Infinite:

add [esi+68],999

I tried what you said but it gave me an error:

movs [esi+68],#99

However, I make the first word ''mov'' so it looked like this:

mov [esi+68],#99

but that just gave me 0 bullets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites