Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Explanation of a "g.exe+number" following alloc?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DarkDolphin
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 1

Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:01 am    Post subject: Explanation of a "g.exe+number" following alloc? Reply with quote

In certain games when you go for Template --> AOB Injection, it would generate something like this:

Code:

alloc(newmem,$1000)


While in other games it has +number that points to the aob location.

Code:

alloc(newmem,$1000,"gamename.exe"+014A10)


If I remove this portion: ","gamename.exe"+014A10", the script may or may not crash the game.


Here are my questions:
1. What's causing the code to be different? Is it due to the 32bit and 64 bit application?
2. Why would an aob scan script require "gamename.exe"+number, since it scans for the aob anyway.
3. Would the aob script still work if the game gets an update and the +number changes while the function's aob remains the same?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 6

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:03 am    Post subject: This post has 1 review(s) Reply with quote

the 3rd parameter is to give CE a hint that you want the jump be near to this address, yes sometimes CE auto-generate the 3rd parameter .. usually for large game executables as far as i noticed honestly.

removing it doesnt have to crash your game, but in some cases when the jump is very far here it might crash your game.

yes usually for 64 bit, remember you can add / remove it manually in every game whether its 32 / 64 bit.

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
patched cheat engine tutorials
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 346

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 20189
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1: the 3th parameter determines the general location where in the memory to allocate the new block
if the distance between two locations is bigger than 2GB the jmp instruction will be 14 bytes long, which never happens in 32 bit, but can happen in 64 bit. and if you don't plan for that in your code (copy more of the original and have the jumpback 14 bytes+ after it) it will crash

2: it just needs a general location, you can also input just gamename.exe or anything else within a 2GB range. (also the aobscan result)

3: yes

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
DarkDolphin
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 1

Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:03 am    Post subject: This post has 1 review(s) Reply with quote

Thanks for clarifying!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> General Gamehacking All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites