Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Value keeps changing ingame (Elex) even when locked in CE.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pen-island
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:02 am    Post subject: Value keeps changing ingame (Elex) even when locked in CE. Reply with quote

Hey guys,
the goal is to increase the number of arrows my character owns for his bow. So I search for the addresses as usual (shooting arrows, filtering, shooting arrows, filtering,..) and CE finds four addresses always holding the exact values of the arrow count. No no matter if I lock them or change them, the game doesnt care. I cannot modify the number of arrows ingame. Please someone give me some advice, I am totally at my witts end Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MulleDK19
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 24
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a lot of reasons this can happen.
If you search for 4-bytes, it could be the actual value is a single byte, and you've only found an intermediate variable.

It could also be that it's not aligned. Try turning off Fast Scan.

It could also be that it's stored as a float and the variable you've found is a conversion to an integer.

It could also be that the number of arrows aren't stored verbatim. Could be that it's how many arrows you've used, and not how many you have. So if you can have 10 arrows, and you have 8 left, the value you'd be looking for is 2.

Could also be that there is no variable at all, and it's an array with an empty element as terminator, and the game gets the number of arrows by counting the elements in the array.


Not saying it's necessarily any of the above, but they aren't limited to doing things a certain way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
howlong100
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MulleDK19 wrote:
It could also be that it's stored as a float and the variable you've found is a conversion to an integer.


Just wondering, but how would you resolve this situation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MulleDK19
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 24
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

howlong100 wrote:
MulleDK19 wrote:
It could also be that it's stored as a float and the variable you've found is a conversion to an integer.


Just wondering, but how would you resolve this situation?

Search for float.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bordy
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 25 Oct 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:54 am    Post subject: Re: Value keeps changing ingame (Elex) even when locked in C Reply with quote

pen-island wrote:
Hey guys,
the goal is to increase the number of arrows my character owns for his bow. So I search for the addresses as usual (shooting arrows, filtering, shooting arrows, filtering,..) and CE finds four addresses always holding the exact values of the arrow count. No no matter if I lock them or change them, the game doesnt care. I cannot modify the number of arrows ingame. Please someone give me some advice, I am totally at my witts end Sad


+1 arrow in bow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ninjatech
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 28 Oct 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Value keeps changing ingame (Elex) even when locked in C Reply with quote

Bordy wrote:
pen-island wrote:
Hey guys,
the goal is to increase the number of arrows my character owns for his bow. So I search for the addresses as usual (shooting arrows, filtering, shooting arrows, filtering,..) and CE finds four addresses always holding the exact values of the arrow count. No no matter if I lock them or change them, the game doesnt care. I cannot modify the number of arrows ingame. Please someone give me some advice, I am totally at my witts end Sad


+1 arrow in bow


This person is correct. You just weren't counting the nocked arrow. This applies to all all ammo - make sure to count the rounds in the chamber.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites