Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Target process memory usage sky rocketing at first scan

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tonio334
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 12 May 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 7:10 am    Post subject: Target process memory usage sky rocketing at first scan Reply with quote

When I run a first scan on a target process, the ram usage or target process (seen in resource monitor) goes from 1.7Gb to 7.7Gb.

I'm doing a simple scan on a specific value that is very quick (about 10sec).
Everything works fine except the ram usage usage of target process.

Could it be some mechanism from target process? Is it from cheat engine?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 341

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 20015
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that is normal
not all memory of the target process is constantly present in RAM (especially if you don't have much RAM)

when you scan with CE it will cause windows to load the memory stored on the disk( the pagefile) back into RAM so CE can read it

this will go back to normal after a while if you use other applications. Windows will then save less used portions of the games memory to disk in favor of other applications

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Tonio334
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 12 May 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good point, I didn't think about swap memory, but I have enough ram to run, even after the target process using 7.7Gb, I still have ~ 6Gb left (I have 16Gb total). but your remark is still pretty solid.

Is there a way to see memory regions list that CE will scan on ? I could give me a good visibility on memory regions I could working on, I didn't find it.

Thank a lot dark byte for your quick answer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 341

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 20015
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

memoryview->view->memory regions
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites