Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Is there a way to save the address value?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
abyd10
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 08 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 12:20 pm    Post subject: Is there a way to save the address value? Reply with quote

For example, I have a cheat engine table file for adjusting Resident Evil 4's FOV. I pick the RE4's process from cheat engine, open the CT file, and then change the address values.

The problem is the changed address values cannot be preserved. So the next time I run the game and load the CT file into cheat engine, the address values are always set to default value.

There are a lot of address values there, so it's tedious to set them again everytime on game start. Currently the workaround I can do is to set a same hotkey of "Set value to" and "Toggle Freeze" (for activating) for each address entry. But I wonder if there is a way to preserve the address value into a file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FreeER
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 53

Joined: 09 Aug 2013
Posts: 1091

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not that I'm aware of but you can probably write an assembly script so all you have to do is enable it and it sets everything to what you want.

Open the memory viewer and then go to "Tools"->"Auto Assemble" and type something like

Code:
[enable]
address:
  dd #value

[disable]
// can leave this blank if you don't need to disable it
address:
  dd #originalValue


and then go to "File"->"Assign to current cheat table" and then close the window and activate the script by clicking in the box next to it (like you'd do to freeze a value).

For a more concrete example here's a way to set step 2 of the tutorial (assuming it was a static address):

Code:
[ENABLE]
0177F718:
  dd #10
 
[DISABLE]
0177F718:
  dd #100


That version wouldn't work once it was closed since it's not at actually a static address but you can use pointers too. Step 2 (for version 3.3) is at "Tutorial-i386.exe"+1FC5D0 with one offset of 480 so you'd use this (the [] tell CE to read the value at that address in memory)

Code:
[ENABLE]
["Tutorial-i386.exe"+1FC5D0]+480:
  dd #10
 
[DISABLE]
["Tutorial-i386.exe"+1FC5D0]+480:
  dd #100


note that the # is because numbers are in hexadecimal by default, so 10 would be 0x10 or 16 in decimal. You can write floats using dd (float)10 and doubles using dq (double)10 (dd = define doubleword, dq = define quadword, a "word" is 2 bytes)

You can have multiple addresses and values right after each other eg.


Code:
[ENABLE]
["Tutorial-i386.exe"+1FC5D0]+480:
  dd #10

["Tutorial-i386.exe"+1FC5D0]+484:
  dd #20
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abyd10
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 08 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, but that solution looks more complicated than using shortcut key. Also, the address is dynamic which means if I restart the game process, the address will change.

To clarify a bit, the address value what I was talking is the rightmost column (please see the attached image file)

The value "75" is the one that I want to preserve. The "01A5***" is the memory address which is kept changing when the game process is started.



ce01b.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  14.77 KB
 Viewed:  37116 Time(s)

ce01b.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FreeER
Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 53

Joined: 09 Aug 2013
Posts: 1091

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

abyd10 wrote:
Also, the address is dynamic which means if I restart the game process, the address will change.
Hence why I mentioned pointers and gave an example. If you can find a pointer path for those values then you can still do the same thing.

If you're using a script to get those addresses then you should be able to write something to those addresses in the same script...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SadrienHatesU
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 08 May 2017
Posts: 14
Location: I don't exist... Unfortunately

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can not find a static base address? If don't know how to, simply do a pointer scan, and close the game and reload putting in the default value or finding the value again once reloaded repeatedly until only static addresses are left.
_________________
Um... Hello... Thanks for taking the time to read my pointless signature Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terazi
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 08 Sep 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brooooooo..... I need this .CT file, plsss :))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites